Ranger in Time: D-Day: Battle on the Beach

Image of Ranger in Time: D-Day: Battle on the Beach


  • Age Range: 7-10
  • Grade Level: 2-5
  • Hardcover/Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press (January 30, 2018)
  • ISBN-10: 133813390X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1338133905

In this adventure, Ranger heads to Normandy on the morning of the D-Day invasion and finds himself in the middle of one of the fiercest battles of World War II. Ranger meets Leo, a Jewish boy who is hiding with a local farmer, and Walt, a young African-American soldier fighting to free France from the Nazis. Walt is in the 320th Balloon Battalion, so it’s his job to help operate the enormous barrage balloons that fly over the American troops, shielding them from enemy planes. It’s pure chaos, with thundering warplanes, falling bombs, and exploding land mines. Will Ranger, Leo, and Walt survive?

Activities and Extras

Ever wonder what an author’s writing process looks like for a chapter book series like Ranger in Time? Check out Kate Messner’s virtual author visit on YouTube with a look at the research, planning, and revision involved in the first two Ranger books!

Praise for the Ranger in Time series:

“This excellent story contains historical details, full-page illustrations, and enough action to keep even reluctant readers engaged.”

~School Library Journal

“The third-person narration expertly balances Ranger’s thoughts between the appropriately doglike (squirrels! bacon!) and the heroic (Ranger’s drive to find and protect).”


“McMorris’s richly rendered illustrations heighten the plot’s many moments of danger and drama, and Messner (Manhunt) incorporates a wealth of historical details into her rousing adventure story. An author’s note offers additional context and detail about the challenges pioneers faced and the real-life research that went into this story.”

~Publishers Weekly

“Readers will love following Ranger on his thrilling adventure along the Oregon Trail. What a great way to learn about history!”

~Lauren Tarshis, author of the I Survived series