Marty McGuire

Cover of Marty McGuire
Global Read Aloud Selection for Primary Grades
Beverly Cleary Children’s Choice Nominee
Oregon Battle of the Books Selection
Alaska Library Association Battle of the Books Selection
Oklahoma Sequoyah Award Nominee (3-5)
Pennsylvania Young Readers’ Choice Award Nominee (K-3)
Rhode Island Children’s Book Award Nominee

Info

  • Illustrated by Brian Floca
  • Age Range: 7 – 10 years
  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks (May 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0545142466
  • ISBN-13: 978-0545142465

Meet Marty McGuire!

Marty would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty’s absolutely, positively sure that there’s been a huge mistake! But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her own plan to improve the play. Maybe a princess in muddy sneakers can live happily ever after, after all!

Messner gets all the details of third grade right: the social chasm between the girls who want to be like the older kids and the ones who are still little girls, the Mad Minutes for memorizing arithmetic facts, the silly classroom-control devices teachers use and the energy students of this age put into projects like class plays. Floca’s black-and-white sketches are filled with movement and emotion and are frequent enough to help new chapter-book readers keep up with this longer text. Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona.

~Kirkus

Listen to Chapter 1 of the MARTY MCGUIRE audio book, narrated by Cassandra Morris

Buy MARTY MCGUIRE

And also read…

16 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

     

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Find Kate Online